Kay’s Adventure- Day 1: Long Sleeves & Oil Palm

I wanted to learn more about tropical forest protection before I begin research at my Masters program at Yale University in September 2010.  I headed to Indonesia – a hotbed of urgent action to save species and forest resources from deforestation, poaching, and encroaching palm oil plantations.  These threaten one of the largest areas of tropical forest in the world.  There is no better place to learn how the fight to save forests and species is taking place.

I spent five days in the field with the WWF-Indonesia tiger monitoring crew (“the tiger team”) based in Pekanbaru, Riau Province, Sumatra.  Riau (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Riau) lies directly on the equator and contains the Tesso Nilo National Park, which provides habitat for the endangered Sumatran elephant, tiger and other protected wildlife species.  The Sumatran tiger numbers fewer than 400 individuals now, and the tiger team’s job of monitoring the population’s presence and use of corridor areas is increasingly crucial.

The tiger team had recent success video capturing a Sumatran tiger with her two cubs (http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2010/jan/07/wild-sumatran-tiger-cubs-camera), but they are out to establish a more systematic link between two protected areas in the south of Riau.  Fragmentation of habitat – when habitat gets divided into smaller areas without links between them – can be very harmful to the tiger population, isolating groups into smaller and unhealthy gene pools.  The two areas I visited with the tiger team still have a thin corridor remaining between them, but encroachment of deforestation for logging and oil palm and rubber plantations is making the need for protection of this corridor urgent.  Some parts of this corridor are now less than 10 km wide.

In the time I spent with the team, the team set out to determine that tigers were using this corridor and to establish that its protection is therefore critical for tiger conservation.

So how does the team do that?

I tagged along for five days, and I have recorded my observations over these five days in five separate entries.  I was impressed with the team and the skills and individual contributions necessary to protect these animals from habitat loss and extinction.  It is hard work, and I was grateful to get this opportunity to come with the team and see how many pieces it takes to build a case for tiger habitat protection.  My time with the team will be chronicled over the next five entries.

~~*~~*~~*~~*~~

Day 1 was spent preparing for the field.  We made sure I had long pants, long sleeves, mosquito repellent, a hat, and rubber boots.  (“In this heat?” I thought.  It was over 80F and humid – it is the jungle.) I brought a backpack, sleeping bag and sleeping pad, and a headlamp for camp.  We supplied ourselves with food and water and loaded up the two trucks with our personal gear and the technological tools for the team’s mission.  Along the 8 hour drive, we stopped for food and to make a repair to the rear passenger door of one of the trucks – the back roads are hard on these trucks, and the latch gave out somewhere on the highway.

We passed rubber plantations and towns.  As the sky got darker, the road got increasingly rough, eventually reducing to a rutted red dirt road through miles of oil palms.  This was my first exposure to oil palm plantations.  Riau is a relatively wealthy province because of its supply of petroleum, but oil palm has been another lucrative industry in Sumatra.  I had heard of deforestation for palm oil, but I had no context for the scale.  We spent hours driving only through oil palms, but I would not appreciate further the scale until later in the week.  Tonight we would be staying in team member Agoeng’s parents’ house, not far from the field site, so we didn’t have to pitch camp when we arrived.

26 thoughts on “Kay’s Adventure- Day 1: Long Sleeves & Oil Palm

  1. A person necessarily assist to make seriously articles I might
    state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and
    thus far? I amazed with the research you made to
    make this particular post extraordinary. Wonderful activity!

  2. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your web
    site, how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid transparent concept

  3. I’m really inspired together with your writing skills and also with the format on your weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it your self? Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon to see a nice blog like this one these days..

  4. If it is lower the Studio365 will tell you and let you know that it will not sound well.
    Some models, if they are equipped with remote start, will allow the customer to start the engine through the app wirelessly, doing so from any place where there is a cell phone signal available.
    The banner ad may be placed on the same page listeners go
    to when they want to listen to the station on-line.

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  6. As an added benefit, internet radio offers music at a better
    quality than traditional radio. “It’s hard to believe, ” says Randy Gilbert,
    host of “The Inside Success Secrets Radio Show”-an Internet radio broadcast which has been “airing” for several years.

    Closed at heels, all the interruptions of RJs too can be kept aside, thanks to odysseystreaming.

  7. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i am glad to express that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed.
    I most no doubt will make certain to don?t disregard this web
    site and give it a glance regularly.

  8. Right here is the right site for everyone who would like to understand this topic.
    You understand a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you
    (not that I personally would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a subject that’s been discussed for years. Excellent stuff, just excellent!

  9. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and interesting, and without
    a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something
    which too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I came across this in my search for something relating to this.

  10. Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and would really
    like to have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would
    enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  11. This is really fascinating, You are an overly skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and stay up for in quest of extra of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

  12. Car shopping is stressful. Now that there are hundreds of makes and models to choose from, not to
    mention promotions and payment options, it’s easy to become frustrated and stressed out. The information here will help make buying a car as easy and stress-free as possible.

  13. I think this is among the most vital info for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  14. I personally didn’t buy an organic bassinet mattress because my model came with the non-organic variety. And enjoy your new baby, your whole life has just changed. Though this article might be of great help in your decision to buy a baby bassinet, try to find out more on baby bassinets by reading reviews and other articles on the internet.

  15. The reason for this is very obvious, though some people still have no idea why is
    this so. The most famous ones being the solitaires in prong settings.
    There are many qualities to a diamond ranging from your basic low
    to high quality, and thankfully all qualities please women, but of
    course if they catch eye of a bigger an better
    one, there original thoughts will soon change, especially for the lucky few were money is no object.

  16. Both drugs have also been denied FDA approval the first time around and are awaiting news on
    their second attempt. Vinson had participants keep their
    normal diet and exercise routines (or lack thereof) and merely added the green coffee.

    When you’re about to start on your weight loss plan, it’s a good idea
    to think about your end goal and chunk it down into smaller goals.

  17. This would be the perfect look for someone who enjoys mountain biking or riding quad bikes.
    But nonetheless, you will find some nutrients about this
    watch for example the fact which you don’t have to worry about batteries. The other great feature of this model may be the rugged weight and feel.

  18. Both drugs have also been denied FDA approval the first time around and are awaiting news on their
    second attempt. It’s old news that tracking food intake could lead to losing a few pounds [2].
    When you’re about to start on your weight loss plan, it’s a good
    idea to think about your end goal and chunk it down into smaller
    goals.

  19. You need to combine practicality and personal touch in the gifts.

    People who tend to overpack their personal effects are always caught up in this dilemma.
    Fortunately, these days baby bags come in manly colors and designs.

  20. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less.
    I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for
    about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I
    can import all my wordpress content into it? Any kind of help
    would be greatly appreciated!

Tinggalkan komentar